Perfection is My Enemy

“At twenty years of age I’m still looking for a dream.”

Welcome to my blog!  As you can probably tell from the name, I am a lover of pineapples and peplums.  If anyone is wondering what a peplum is, you can click here for a picture. I’m assuming you all know what a pineapple is.  For my first post, I thought I would tell you more about myself and how this blog came about.

8

Senior Pictures taken in 2013 by Emilie Arnett Photography

I was never one of those kids who knew what they wanted to be when they grow up.  My classmates knew they wanted to be nurses or teachers, and they have achieved that which is great for them!  I didn’t see a point in going to college, because I had no clue what to major in.  I’ve always had a “passion for fashion” but didn’t know how to make a career out of it.  Starting a fashion blog has been on my mind for a couple of months now.  A friend at church suggested that I start one, but I talked myself out of it and made excuses.  “I need a good quality camera and that’s too expensive.”  “I’m not technologically savvy.”  “Why would anyone be interested in what I’m writing?”  Those negative thoughts kept crossing my mind, but I realized that I needed to at least try to see what happens.

28

Senior Pictures taken in 2013 by Emilie Arnett Photography.

“For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.” – Jeremiah 29:11 (NIV)

I love this Bible verse because it shows that God is in control of my future.  Like the Francesca Battistelli song “Free to Be Me” says, “When I was just a girl I thought I had it figured out, my life would turn out right, and I’d make it here somehow, but things don’t always come that easy, and sometimes I would doubt.”  Being a perfectionist is something I have struggled with my whole life, but I don’t have to have my life all perfect and planned out, because God already knows exactly what’s going to happen. 

“When I was just a girl I thought I had it figured out
My life would turn out right, and I’d make it here somehow
But things don’t always come that easy
And sometimes I would doubt.”

So if there’s anything I hope you take away from this, it would be to step outside your comfort zone every now and then, and that “I can do all things through Him who strengthens me.”  Be on the lookout for fashion posts coming soon!!

|Elisabeth|

 

One thought on “Perfection is My Enemy

Leave a comment